History

1958

Club creation

 

These are the beginnings of canoeing in the Dordogne. At the initiative of Adolpe Tesnière, the Groupe Nautique du Périgord (GNP) was created in 1958, in Périgueux. Five years later, in 1963, the club already had its first athletes selected for the World Championships. In 1969, seventeen athletes participated in the French Championships, winning four titles, three gold medals and one bronze medal.

1985

Fusion and installation at the Moulin de Sainte-Claire

 

The Leisure Périgord Association (ALP) was born in 1985. Offering the same type of activities in the city, the two associations merged to become ALP GNP, the current structure. The club moved its headquarters to the Sainte-Claire mill (historical and then industrial heritage since the 13th century). The club is now located near the city center, on the right bank of the Isle.

2010

Since

2015

Downhill and road race: the turn to two other disciplines

The club had been oriented towards slalom for several years, to the point of being among the top 50 clubs in France. In 2010, the Périgueux club turned resolutely towards two new disciplines:

  • Wildwater, in which Périgueux is propelled in Nationale 1 between 2014 and 2017, in the top 3 of French clubs, whereas it was classified in the 200th place seven years earlier.

  • Sprint, in which Périgueux finished in Nationale 3 (65th place).

Périgueux brings together 160 to 224 licensees every year, with more and more practitioners in paddle schools and athletes with national and international titles and athletes in Pôle Espoir, Pôle France and Ministerial List.

In 2014, the club supported the arrival of the Tour de France in Périgueux .

An increasingly dynamic club

The year of its 30 years, the club counts four athletes selected in the French team in May 2015. One month later, the Nautical Path From One Shore to the Other  is inaugurated. The rabaskas Vesunna I and II, whose famous head of prow is machined by Socra, are inaugurated for the occasion. That same summer, the athletes distinguished themselves at the World Championships, bringing back titles and medals.

Several projects follow one another to energize the club.  In April 2016, the club joined the French Adapted Sport Federation and a few months later co-organized the French Adapted Sport Championships in Périgueux. In collaboration with CAMI, the club involves eleven people with cancer in the 2016 edition of the  Vogalonga Challenge , organized in Venice.

 

That same year, Manon Hostens was the first athlete from the club to represent France at the Olympic Games in Rio , where she finished 12th in K4. After wearing the colors of her country six years earlier at the Youth Olympic Games in Singapore, she is the first kayaker from Dordogne to reach this level of competition.

To offer modern sports equipment adapted to the latest uses, the mayor of Périgueux, Antoine Audi, inaugurates the end of the renovation work on the Sainte-Claire mill in 2017. The nautical base is then symbolically renamed "Ado et Mad Tesnière".

In 2018, Périgueux Canoë-Kayak is renewing the Défi Vogalonga experience. Périgueux Canoë-Kayak actively participates in the 2018 edition of  Dordogne-Périgord Canoe-Kayak Marathon in Castelnaud. That year, the club diversified its activities and opened a kayak-polo section. The club then had 657 licensees and had a great track record to its credit.

In 2021, Périgueux Canoë-Kayak is organizing the first edition of the 100 meters of Isle, a general public event organized on the quays below the Saint-Front cathedral and which brings together several athletes from the French national running team.

DSC00193.JPG

'Vive LE TOUR'

In 2014, thirty club's boats were installed below Saint-Front Cathedral to make this message appear on TV around the world, on the occasion of the Bergerac-Périgueux time trial.

Notre histoire

1958

Création du club

 

Ce sont les débuts du canoë-kayak en Dordogne. A l'initiative d'Adolpe Tesnière, le Groupe Nautique du Périgord (GNP) voit le jour en 1958, à Périgueux. Cinq ans plus tard, en 1963, le club présente déjà ses premiers athlètes sélectionnés aux Championnats du Monde. En 1969, dix-sept sportifs participent aux Championnats de France, ramenant quatre titres, trois médailles d'or et une de bronze.

1985

Fusion et installation au Moulin de Sainte-Claire

 

L'Association Loisirs Périgord (ALP) naît en 1985. Proposant le même type d'activités sur la ville, les deux associations fusionnent pour devenir l'ALP GNP, la structure actuelle. Le club déplace son siège au moulin de Sainte-Claire (patrimoine historique puis industriel depuis le XIIIe siècle). Le club est dorénavant situé à proximité du centre-ville, sur la rive droite de l'Isle.

2010

Depuis

2015

Descente et course en ligne : le tournant vers deux autres disciplines

Le club s'était orienté vers le slalom pendant plusieurs années, au point de figurer parmi les 50 premiers clubs en France. En 2010, le club de Périgueux se tourne résolument vers deux nouvelles disciplines :

  • la descente de rivière, où Périgueux est propulsé en Nationale 1 entre 2014 et 2017, dans le top 3 des clubs français, alors qu'il était classé à la 200e place sept ans auparavant.

  • la course en ligne, où Périgueux termine en Nationale 3 (65e place).

Périgueux regroupe 160 à 224 licenciés tous les ans, avec de plus en plus de pratiquants en école de pagaie et d'athlètes avec des titres nationaux et internationaux et des sportifs en Pôle Espoir, Pôle France et Liste Ministérielle.

En 2014, le club soutient l'arrivée du Tour de France à Périgueux.

Un club de plus en plus dynamique

L'année de ses 30 ans, le club compte quatre athlètes sélectionnés en Équipe de France en mai 2015. Un mois plus tard, le Sentier Nautique D'une Rive à l'Autre est inauguré. Les rabaskas Vesunna I et II, dont la célèbre tête de proue est usinée par la Socra, sont inaugurés pour l'occasion. Ce même été, les athlètes se distinguent aux Championnats du Monde, ramenant titres et médailles.

Plusieurs projets se succèdent ensuite pour dynamiser le club. En avril 2016, le club adhère à la Fédération Française de Sport Adapté et co-organise quelques mois plus tard les Championnats de France de Sport Adapté à Périgueux. En collaboration avec la CAMI, le club fait participer onze personnes atteintes d'un cancer à l'édition 2016 du Défi Vogalonga, organisé à Venise.

 

Cette même année, Manon Hostens est la première athlète du club à représenter la France aux Jeux Olympiques de Rio, où elle termine à la 12e place en K4. Après avoir porté les couleurs de son pays six ans plus tôt aux Jeux Olympiques de la Jeunesse à Singapour, elle est la première kayakiste de Dordogne à atteindre ce niveau de compétition.

Pour offrir des équipements sportifs modernes et adaptés aux derniers usages, le maire de Périgueux, Antoine Audi, inaugure la fin des travaux de rénovation du moulin de Sainte-Claire en 2017. La base nautique est alors symboliquement renommée "Ado et Mad Tesnière".

En 2018, Périgueux Canoë-Kayak renouvelle l'expérience du Défi Vogalonga. Périgueux Canoë-Kayak participe activement à l'édition 2018 du Marathon Dordogne-Périgord Canoë-Kayak à Castelnaud. Cette année-là, le club diversifie ses activités et ouvre une section de kayak-polo. 

Aujourd'hui, le club compte 657 licenciés et possède un grand palmarès à son actif.

DSC00193.JPG

VIVE LE TOUR

En 2014, trente bateaux du club ont été installés en contrebas de la cathédrale Saint-Front pour transmettre ce message sur les télévisions du monde entier, à l'occasion du contre-la-montre Bergerac-Périgueux.

Périgueux Canoë-Kayak

Base nautique Ado et Mad Tesnière

Moulin de Sainte-Claire

24000 Périgueux

Logo Périgueux Canoë-Kayak

© 2020 Périgueux Canoë-Kayak. Tous droits réservés. | Mentions légales | Plan du site